Share this Article:

Focus Acquires Worldwide Rights to The Little Stranger

Oscar-nominated Director Lenny Abrahamson Will Lens This Summer

Focus Features 05.23.2017

Focus Features has acquired worldwide rights to The Little Stranger - director Lenny Abrahamson's follow-up to his Academy Award nominated Room.

Become a Focus Features Insider
Register to be first to know about FREE advanced screenings, World Premiere Travel Packages, Weekend Set Visits and so much more!

"We're thrilled to be working with Lenny, a filmmaker who has proven to redefine every genre he takes on."

Peter Kujawski, Chairman, Focus Features


In a remote English village after the close of World War II, a local practitioner, Dr. Faraday [Domhnall Gleeson, Ex Machina], is called to the aged estate of Hundreds Hall to tend to an unwell parlormaid. Faraday knows the estate from his own childhood, when his mother worked there as a maid herself.

The Hall is home to a glamorous widow, Mrs. Ayres [Charlotte Rampling, Oscar-nominee for 45 Years], and her two grown children, the mesmerizing Caroline [Ruth Wilson, Locke] and Roddy [Will Poulter, The Revenant], a badly disfigured veteran of the war.

The Ayres family welcomes Faraday and his expertise, and he is drawn into the mystery of the Hall’s apparent haunting by a malevolent ghost.

As he becomes increasingly entangled with the family, the malevolent presence in the house ratchets up in intensity, and fates become violently and intimately entwined.


The Little Stranger script was adapted for screen by Lucinda Coxon from the 2009 novel of the same name by Sarah Waters. Ms. Coxon previously worked with Focus on the adaptation of Tom Hooper's The Danish Girl in 2015.

Gail Egan [Focus' The Constant Gardner], Andrea Calderwood [The Last King of Scotland] and Ed Guiney [Room] are aboard as producers.

A joint venture between Focus Features, Pathé and Film4, the film is being presented in association with Ingenious Media and the Irish Film Board of a Potboiler production in association with Element Pictures.

Pathé's Cameron McCracken [Slumdog Millionaire], Film4's Daniel Battsek [Hitchcock/Truffaut], Irish Film Board's Celine Haddad [Millions], Ingenious' Tim O'Shea and Andrew Lowe [The Lobster] of Element films are the Executive Producer team.

Sign up for the Focus Insider for exclusive reports from set and more.